Melania Trump Club

Monday, September 19, 2011

Daytime Emmys

Daytime Emmys

For more details on this topic, see Daytime Emmy Award.
The Daytime Emmy Awards, generally are held in June, are presented in recognition of excellence in American daytime television programming. The first daytime-themed Emmy Awards were given out at the primetime ceremony in 1972, but the first separate awards show made just for daytime programming was not held until 1974.
Like the Primetime Emmys, a separate Creative Arts Emmy ceremony is also held a few days earlier to honor the behind-the-scenes personnel working in daytime television.

Sports Emmys

The Sports Emmy Awards are presented for excellence in sports programming. The awards ceremony takes place every Spring, usually sometime in the last two weeks in April or the first week in May, and is held on a Monday night in New York City.

News and Documentary Emmys

For more details on this topic, see News & Documentary Emmy Award.
The News & Documentary Emmy Awards are presented for excellence in national news and documentary programming. The awards ceremony takes place every Fall.

Technology and Engineering Emmys

For more details on this topic, see Technology & Engineering Emmy Award.
The Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards are presented to individuals, companies, or to scientific or technical organizations in recognition of significant developments and contributions to the technological and engineering aspects of television.

Regional Emmys

There are 20 total regional chapters located across the United States that each conduct regional awards to recognize excellence in all the regional television markets, including local news programs and other locally produced shows. Nineteen of the regional chapters are affiliated with the NATAS, while the Los Angeles-based ATAS acts as the regional chapter serving the Los Angeles area.
The Regional Emmys are essential in helping NATAS and ATAS honor the works of deserving individuals in local TV through a regional outreach. Like the national awards, each region goes through their own rigorous nomination and voting procedures. Committees are formed to review entries for eligibility and high standards. Once accepted, each entry goes before different review committees, and their votes are cast to determine the final nominees. The final votes are then calculated by certified accounting firms within each region. Regardless of winning on an national or regional level, all recipients are "Emmy Award" winners.
Originally, each Regional Emmy Awards ceremony primarily focused on only honoring individuals in local news programming. The regionals have since been expanded to encompass all locally-produced shows that receive less than fifty percent of the country's viewing audience.
Regional chapter States in region
Boston / New England Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont; Most of Connecticut
Chicago / Midwest Parts of Illinois, Indiana and Wisconsin
Highlands Ranch / Heartlands Colorado, Nebraska, Kansas, and Oklahoma; Parts of Wyoming
Dallas / Lone Star Texas; Parts of New Mexico
Los Angeles (ATAS) Los Angeles only
Brecksville / Lower Great Lakes Parts of Indiana, Ohio, and Pennsylvania
Southfield / Michigan Michigan
Arkansas / Mid-America Arkansas, Iowa, and Missouri; Parts of Illinois and Louisiana
Delaware / Mid-Atlantic Delaware; Most of Pennsylvania; Parts of New Jersey and Ohio
Nashville / Midsouth North Carolina, Tennessee
Maryland / National Capitol/Chesapeake Bay Maryland, Virginia, and Washington, D.C.
New York / New York New York; Parts of Connecticut and New Jersey
Alaska / Northwest Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington
Kentucky / Ohio Valley Kentucky and West Virginia; Parts of Indiana and Ohio
San Diego / Pacific Southwest Most of Southern California; Parts of Nevada
Arizona / Rocky Mountain Arizona and Utah; Most of New Mexico and Wyoming; Parts of Southern California
San Francisco / Northern California Northern California and Hawaii; Parts of Nevada
Atlanta / Southeast Mississippi and South Carolina; Most of Alabama and Georgia
Suncoast Florida; Parts of Alabama, Louisiana, and Georgia
Minnesota / Upper Midwest Minnesota, North Dakota and South Dakota; Parts of Nebraska and Wisconsin

International Emmys

The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences presents the International Emmy Award to the best television programs produced, and initially aired, outside the U.S. There are fourteen program categories for the International Emmy Awards: Arts Programming; Best Performance by an Actor; Best Performance by an Actress; Children & Young People; Comedy; Current Affairs; Documentary; Drama Series; Interactive Channel; Interactive Program; Interactive TV Service; News; Non-Scripted Entertainment; Telenovela; and TV Movie/Mini-Series.
The awards are presented at the International Emmy Awards Gala. Held each year in November at the Hilton Hotel, New York City, the Gala attracts over 1,200 television professionals, who gather to celebrate excellence in television and network with their peers.
The three Interactive categories are awarded in a separate ceremony held during MIPTV in Cannes.

Student Emmys

High school and college students can submit productions to their region's charter and receive recognition in the categories of News, Arts & Entertainment, Documentary, Public Affairs/Community Service/Public Service, Sports, Technical Achievement and Writing.
The school or after-school program attached to the students then receives a plaque with the name of an adult advisor and the student film-makers. Up to one-hundred students are allowed to be attached to an award.
From there, a "blue-ribbon" panel judges the winners from each region and awards the National Student Television Award for Excellence.
However, in 2009, this program was suspended at a national level and competition went on only regionally. Per the website: "Partly as a result of the recent severe downturn in the nation’s economy, corporate and personal grants and donations that provided National Student Television (NSTV) with funds to conduct our annual competition have not materialized. There is no money to continue our operations."

Other Emmys

Producer and director Allen R. Morris accepting a National Public Service Emmy Award, 2002
Business and financial reporting
Public Service—for public service announcements and programming to "advance the common good"
The Bob Hope Humanitarian Award—awarded by the Academy Board of Governors
The Governors Award honors the achievements of an individual, company or organization whose works stand out with the immediacy of current achievement. It is the highest award presented by the Academy.

No comments:

Post a Comment